Allow me to introduce you to example A (not an actual photo):
We'll call him, Grandpa. I don't know if he has any
grand kids or not, it's more of an attitude than a position. I texted Grandpa for most of the morning. His pictures were decent, out on a deck near the water, in the water and one close up of his head and shoulders. He wasn't completely unfortunate looking although the angle did a lot to cover up the bald spot in the back of his head but I digress. We texted and chatted a bit - nothing too personal. He was originally from NJ (should have been my first clue), he moved down last year and bought his 5600 square feet house near the water in January (not sure why it was necessary to tell me the square footage - not like I'm ever going to see it, let alone live in it). He has two daughters (both grown and in different stages of college). He's an engineer (should have seen that as another clue, too). So, with all this basic knowledge, when he asked if I wanted to meet him for a drink, I said yes. Oddly, I shrugged as I said it. (Another clue.)
So we met ... at the local watering hole - scene to "Boy" from my last blog. Maybe I should reconsider where I meet these people? Of course, the venue does not determine the likelihood of attraction so... that point may be moot. So, we agree to meet. I left work (a little later than I should have to be on time - another clue). Of course, the traffic was worse than usual but I managed to get to the parking garage by five after. I did receive a text from Grandpa telling me, he too, was caught up in the traffic and would be a few minutes late. How convenient.
I parked my car and walked to the venue. I went in and sat at the bar, asked about the happy hour specials and proceeded to order myself a drink. Now, let me remind you of something here. Grandpa and I NEVER exchanged names. He doesn't know mine (although he thinks he does based on my screen name but that's not my REAL name) and I never asked for his (yet, another clue). Also, Grandpa does NOT have my phone number, nor I his. He and I communicate solely through the dating app (yup, another clue). Sometimes, I seriously wonder if Clairol seeps into my brain cells and dulls my senses. I should have seen the signs - the clues were there. I'm sure you know where this is going ...
As I sat there and took a sip of my drink, my phone showed an alert. I checked, yup it was from Grandpa. He said he made it. I replied with, "I'm at the bar." Only to get a turn around response of, "me too! in the front, where are you?" With this, I got up, grabbed my drink and proceeded to go to the other side of the bar. I looked at the bar and saw a man (tall, leaning over the bar with a tummy that practically touched his knees) and hoped to God and all that is Holy to not be him. Thankfully, the guy at the table turned around and said, "Hey!" I dodged that one, right? Or so I thought.
I smiled and said, "Hi!" He already had a drink and a slice of bread with some kind of sauce on the side. I took in the scene and said nothing. I sat down across from him.
"How long have you been here? I didn't see you come in?," he asked.
I smiled and said, "Oh, I just got here," as I took a long sip of my drink. Already I started thinking about how long this was going to last. Perhaps it showed on my face, I don't know. He asked me something and before I could answer, the worst waitress ever showed up. (I am not just saying that, she is the WORST waitress ever unless you are a man). She swooped in and proceeded to interrupt with, "Hello Darlin', how do you like..." and then she noticed me (how she could miss me considering she had to avoid walking into me to get to the table, I don't know), "Oh, I see you have a drink, everything else okay?" with the most insincere smile on her face. You know those smiles. The one you make when you were just told you have to work on Saturday after you were told you didn't. Yea, that one. Girlfriend was NOT happy I was sitting at her table. Whatever, I smiled and said, " Yes, I have everything I need, thanks, " with a wink and equally insincere smile. Grandpa on the other hand, smiled a huge smile and told her, "Put her drink on my tab, Darlin'". Not sure of the appeal but I think I may have thrown up a little in my mouth.
"At the club?" he asked.
"Yes, you know the places that play loud music," I said raising my eyebrows and giving the look of duh that I usually reserve for my children or really slow people.
"Oh, right. Who still goes out to a club? I'm in bed by 9pm every night," he countered as he looked down into his almost empty baby glass.
"Well,..." I started, as the WORST waitress (WW) ever swooped in again and asked if we'd like a second round. Grandpa actually was thinking about it and I jumped in and said, "Yes, that would be great!"
To which Grandpa said, "Yes, but I want something different - I want the 'gaaawpooo" or whatever that is, I don't know how to say it," as he laughed along with WW. WW took her leave and I looked at the board where all the IPAs were listed. The drink he ordered was an el Guapo. I looked at him and pronounced it for him. He shrugged his shoulders. I translated it for him. "It means the most handsome". He smiled and said, "how fitting". I smiled in return but it was more of a, "wow, you think highly of yourself, don't you?" He thought I was in agreement so I let him go with that.
He excused himself to use the bathroom. I told him where it was. Small bladder on top of everything else. I can not do this.
"So, what DO you listen to?" he asked when he returned, as WW returned with our drinks. I said, "EDM." I knew full well, he had NO idea what that was. I went on to dumb it down for him - he finally nodded when I said, "it's like Techno but better." I took a long sip of my drink and was quite happy it was not a double like I normally order. I could not handle this guy.
"Oh, well, I can't stay awake most nights. I like to sit on my deck and watch the water, and fall asleep in my chair," he said as he avoided eye contact. If I didn't know prior, I definitely knew now, this is done. Just gotta work on my exit.
"Well, you know, as you age, sleep does become more important to many," I threw out there to see if he'd bite.
"Yes, sleep is very important. What time do you get up if you go out the club - do you close them or just visit?" he asked.
"Actually, it depends on the company and the music, if it's good, I close the club, if not, I leave. Point is I stay up a lot of times til 2-3am," I said with a challenge in my eyes.
"Okay, but what time do you get up?" he countered.
"5:30am - 6am depending on whether I go to the gym. Of course, I may also take a nap at Noon but that's perfectly okay," I said with a twist of a grin.
"haha, you know when you get older, most give up there 'wayward' ways," he said trying to not sound condescending. I picked up on it and said, "Well, I might be xx years old but I don't need that to define my actions."
"Age is just a number," he said.
"If age is just a number why do so many determine how they will act and what activities they engage in based solely on their age?" I demanded.
"I like being my age. I need to be my age. I am active and stay active in accordance with my age." he said.
I began to laugh...just then WW appeared and asked if we needed another round. I shook my head and he said,"No, we need to get going". Did we ever? I was dying from his cookie cutter conformist attitude not to mention his need to use the bathroom every 20 minutes.
I was off the chair and started to walk toward the door. Thankfully we were in opposite directions. He said something (I just smiled and threw out the "it was nice to meet you too" line not even sure that's what he had said.) I didn't care. I wanted to go. I turned my back and left.

No comments:
Post a Comment